Thevenin Equivalent

RoKr93

Joined Jun 17, 2013
I'm studying for my final exam and going over old problems. Something doesn't quite sit well with me about this one; did I redraw it wrong?

joeyd999

Joined Jun 6, 2011
The redrawn circuit is not equivalent. Further, there is no need to "reduce" the circuit in the manner you have shown.

Remember that the Thevenin equivalent voltage is the open circuit voltage (from nodes A to B), and the resistance is the open circuit voltage divided by the short circuit current.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Always ask if the answer makes sense, which you are admittedly trying to do even to be saying that something isn't sitting well with you. The next step is to try to identify what doesn't sit well with you, so that you can focus on either finding out why what you have done is wrong or why you thought it didn't sit well was wrong.

In this case, consider the two 20Ω resistors. In the original circuit the are connected together at node A, but the other ends are NOT connected together and one of them is connected to the negative side of the source and the other is connected to the positive side. But in your first redraw circuit, the are connected together at both ends and only connect to the negative side of the battery. Why did you choose the negative side? Is someone had redrawn the circuit exactly as you did exempt had the source turned around, what would you have said to them to convince them that yours what right and theies' was wrong?