Theater Cue Lighting System

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Etchasketch, Oct 16, 2013.

1. Etchasketch

Thread Starter New Member

Oct 16, 2013
    So I just started working on a little project for my school's theater. It's pretty basic, just need to make a small, cheap system that can be used to cue actors/technicians that their cue is coming up by turning a light on and off. (Little side note but I have little to no experience in circuiting so if I make a mistake, am misinformed, or just am going about something wrong) I was planning on using some backlit Led push buttons on the control panel and some basic LED's to be used to signal the operator that their cue is coming/on with some 2 core wire going to each station. I was tempted to use actual light bulbs (of a lower brightness so that they only attract the attention of the operators and not anyone else) but I'm not sure if that'd take too much power or make things too difficult. I was having a bit of an issue figuring out how I was going to do power since I was aiming at having 4-6 different stations and I didn't really want to have to have 4-6 different power supplies so I was hoping there was some way I could split those up so I could have minimal wiring and make it as clean and simple as possible. The stations will each be between 10-100 maybe 150 feet away depending on where they each are. Hopefully taking this project on wasn't biting off more than I can chew but I do have quite a lot of time and am willing to go through some trial and error.

Thanks in advance for any help!

2. mcgyvr

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 15, 2009
    Assuming its only 1 "control" station and multiple "only led stations" then you simply put a power supply in the control box.. (any simple wall wart type ac/dc power supply..5V, 12V)

You simply have 2 wires going to each box carrying the power to each led station.