The simple way to make a analog speed control for a DC motor - AKA why dont this work?

Connor Rasilainen

Joined Jun 13, 2015
Hi everyone,

I'm a mechanical engineering student, so it goes without saying my knowledge of electricity and circuits isn't the best.

I'm working on my capstone project for my graduating semester. For this project we need to build a variable speed control for a DC motor. I took a motor out of a cordless drill (17V). Hooked it up to a power source as it ran fine, however we need something with better control for speed than the trigger switch. I tried to replace the trigger switch with a on/off switch and a potentiometer but hooking the motor up now, it doesn't even move.

I know I made a pretty huge error but I'm just not sure why this doesn't work. If someone could explain that to me and what I can do to fix it that would be awesome. thanks. I have access to many electronic components.

I've attached the schematic of what I tried.

Attachments

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Try a power rheostat that has an adjustment range from 0Ω to about 50Ω (looks like this) in place of the 500kΩ pot. It will have to be rated for power dissipation of 25W to 50W.

Ohms law: To drop a few volts (reduce the voltage to the motor) at an amp or two: R=E/I = 10/2 = 5Ω.

Power dissipation: P=IE 10*2 = 20W

Joined Nov 30, 2010
MikeMl got there first, but...
The obvious answer (to me) is to use a variable pulse width (at the full voltage) to slap the motor into movement, in tiny increments. If you need better control than that, there are stepper motors that will move only a few degrees with each pulse. Name your poison.

cmartinez

Joined Jan 17, 2007
Hi everyone,

I'm a mechanical engineering student, so it goes without saying my knowledge of electricity and circuits isn't the best.