the problem with datasheet websites

Discussion in 'Electronics Resources' started by bobbyrae, Sep 12, 2009.

1. bobbyrae

Thread Starter Active Member

May 14, 2009
    Admittedly, I am new to this stuff, but I find one really frustrating problem with the datasheet websites. Maybe someone here has an answer.

The problem is that many components do NOT have the full component number on them! So if I look at the component, write down the number, and then go to the datasheet archive, it says "no results". On the other hand, if you can find the schematic, where they give the complete number, then the datasheet archive can find it. So why don't the archive people realize this and provide a better search capability?

Here's an example:

An old audio receiver from the '70's has a bunch of transistors labelled "C1918". This will give the old "no results", but when I found the schematic which indicates the full designation of "2SC1918", then the archive can help.

But WHY not give search results for anything that matches "C1918" to start with?
  2. hgmjr

Jan 28, 2005
    214 provides for the use of wildcard search. For example, you can look for *74HC00* and get a list of all different versions of the part.

3. jpanhalt

AAC Fanatic!

Jan 18, 2008
    Other sites, like, allow you to specify "begins with" or "contains" in your search term.

4. bobbyrae

Thread Starter Active Member

May 14, 2009
    You ARE right about that, but the downside is that site seems to have less coverage. When I went to find items that contain "C1918" it does NOT come back with 2SC1918, and even when I type the whole number it still can't find it.

So with this particular transistor, one still could NOT find the datasheet by just looking at the component!
  5. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004
    There are several hits on "2sc1918". Data sheets are not very forthcoming, though. It's obsolete.