The Power of Charge.

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by BR-549, Jul 3, 2016.

1. BR-549

Thread Starter Well-Known Member

Sep 22, 2013
  2. Lestraveled

May 19, 2014
    Every lab I have worked at was periodically inspected for safety and anti-stat compliance. The lab manager who said "don't worry about it" should no longer be a lab manager.

Sinus23 and nsaspook like this.
  3. laceholes

Jul 26, 2016
    I agree. I worked in a lab where someone walked into 200 kV X rays protected by only a 9mm sheet of lead supported on a crane. One slip up and he would have regretted it. Another guy picked up an earthed soldering iron only the earth wasn't mains earth but 600 V , 400 amp dc above it. As he applied it to his earthed circuit the soldering iron's lead disappeared in a flash.

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    This just answered one of my earliest questions about electricity:
    What would happen if you stuffed all the electrons that would fit into a 1 meter brass sphere, into a 1 meter brass sphere?
    What would the voltage be, compared to, perhaps, our planet?
    I mean, a charged capacitor obviously has more electrons on one side than the other...right?
    How far can you push that?
    We have created a million volts, 50 million volts.
    What's the limit?
    Is there a limit?
    What if you took all the electrons out of the sphere?

Some of the old timers might remember this question as it was asked about 5 years ago.
    It was difficult to define how many electrons you can stuff into a given sphere, and the answers were equally disjoint.
    Now I know. The answer is, KABOOM.
    You can't significantly strip the electrons from a mass without incredible amounts of energy.
    These things we call capacitors are merely playing with the tiniest edge of an electron imbalance.

cmartinez and nsaspook like this.
  5. nsaspook

AAC Fanatic!

Aug 27, 2009
    The OP link again.