'The Package attribute' for PCB netlist export ?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by webcord, Jul 31, 2011.

1. webcord

Thread Starter New Member

Jul 31, 2011
    I am a luthier, new to electronics and want to make several simple modules such as pre-amps, equalisers etc for putting into acoustic/electric instruments.
    I have found plenty of schematics for what I need and have a couple of free pcb mdesign programs. However although I understand the schematics ok I come unstuck when the prog asks for the "Package attribute" for creating a PCB netlist export . As I understand it , this is a reference number relating to the "footprint" of each component, so that the pcb design program knows the size of each component?
    The question is , I can't find anywhere that tells me where to find this packsge attribute, and the examples make no sense to me.
    Hopefully this is a simple question which everyone except me knows the answer to!
    Or maybe I am being stupid, either way I would very much appreciate a simple answer as to how I find this information.
    -scematic prog ; TinyCad
    pcb layout ;VeeCad
    Thanks in advance,
    Steve

2. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    Are you a member of the Yahoo! TinyCad User's Group?
    http://uk.groups.yahoo.com/group/tinycad/
    If not, you should join, as there are over 3,000 members, and lots of help available. You'll need to first establish a free Yahoo! account if you don't have one already.

TinyCad and FreePCB reportedly work quite well together, but TinyCad as supplied does not have any package information in the library. This is understandable, as TinyCad was developed for drawing schematics, and not necessarily for creating PCB's - it would be quite a lot of effort for someone to add all of the package attributes for all of the parts in the library, but it's not so bad if you're just doing a few of them at a time when you need to export a netlist.