The "infamous" 555 servo controller

abc27

Joined Dec 16, 2010
Hey everyone, i'm relatively new to electronics so please bear with me. I'm trying to make a simple 555 controller where a servo is controlled by a potentiometer linked to a 555 timer.

I've etched a PCB for all of this already and that's ready to go and the layout's fine e.t.c. but I wanted to give it a shot on a breadboard first of all to see how things go. Needless to say, things didn't go nearly as smoothly as i'd had hoped for. I amn't sure whether it's the fact that it's my first ever time using a breadboard or that my entire schematic is fundamentally flawed.

My first attempt at this yielded the following results

The minute I connect the servo to the header pins, it starts humming and begins to move extremely slowly in one direction. Sometimes it bursts for about half a second after I plug it in. Turning the pot does not change direction at all, all it seems to do is completely stop the servo from moving at all. I'm personally unsure as to whether or not it's my poor breadboard usage or my schematic that is causing the circuit to work like this.

I've attached a photo of my schematic and my breadboard with all the components connected.

Disregard the right half of that schematic, it doesn't really need any testing.

To recap, all I really want to know is whether or not my schematic is solid. My breadboard problems I can work on.

Attachments

Last edited:

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Welcome to AAC!

I recognize the schematic,

http://wolfstone.halloweenhost.com/Motors/svoint_RCServos.html#Driving

The link that site referred to is gone, so this is it. I suspect the design basically works but is too simple. There is a second schematic on the site that might work better.

http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/showpost.php?p=104945&postcount=4

Do us a favor, shrink that image about 80%. Makes viewing the page on a standard browser awkward. Or you could link to this image...