the choice of microcontroller for specific purpose

mdpai

Joined Jan 5, 2010
Hi,
I'm new to the embedded system world and i'm trying right now to get the grip of it.
1) My first question and maybe the simplest for you guys is how to choose a microcontroller knowing that I want to add:

2 USB Ports
2 Ethernet Ports (for router functionalities)
A Graphical LCD Screen
and a small keyboard/keypad.
Embedded linux

to the microcontroller board. What is the most important thing when choosing a microcontroller? is it the function we want to realize or the components we want to add around it.

2) Do the choice of components like USB ports or LCD Screen rely heavily on the choice of the microcontroller?

3) Can we connect directly the components to the microcontroller or do we need some kind of interface/controller between these 2? What are the main purposes of these controllers/interface exactly?

Thanks for all the answers and suggestions

mdpai

Joined Jan 5, 2010
I take a look at single board computers and it's out of my spec. I don't need fast processors. Below 100Mhz is fine..

Thanks for the suggestion

BMorse

Joined Sep 26, 2009
2 USB Ports
2 Ethernet Ports (for router functionalities)
A Graphical LCD Screen
and a small keyboard/keypad.
Embedded linux
Sounds like you need to check out Microchips Pic32MX with USB on the go ( USB OTG). Besides the embedded Linux, it can do everything else....... but then again, I have not seen embedded Linux ported to any Microcontroller...

My .02

mdpai

Joined Jan 5, 2010
Thanks, I've read uclinux.org and it says I can embed linux to a microcontroller.

If the microcontroller says that it has USB interface, does it mean that I can directly connect a USB port to the microcontroller? and if the microcontroller doesn't have any integrated interfaces at all, does it mean everytime i want to add a componant, i have to search for an interface for that componant?