The bad old days

Discussion in 'Math' started by someonesdad, Jan 13, 2011.

1. someonesdad

Thread Starter Senior Member

Jul 7, 2009
    I wrote this a while back, then forgot about it. Some of you geezers will remember this stuff and some of you younger folks might want to do some calculations without a calculator or computer -- I guarantee it will make you appreciate these electronic tools a bit more. :p

2. Georacer

Nov 25, 2009
    My father told me that he was taugh on logarithmic tables. I have never seen one and only 30 years have passed. Technology is sure accelerating fast and I 'm glad to see that education is trying to keep up.

3. Adjuster

Dec 26, 2010
    This makes me feel very, very old. I don't have to look back to my father's generation for log tables or slide rules. I was a student at a time when calculators were just becoming easily affordable, and well remember that there was a lot of argument over whether they should be allowed to be used for school or examination work. They were just being accepted around the time when I was finishing my studies. I remember going into my final exams with a LED display calculator strapped to a large 9V battery, as its internal PP3 battery could not be trusted to last long enough.

It seems such a short while ago ago that I felt scornful of older people who doubted the advantages of what was new at that time. Now its my turn to feel nostalgic: no doubt some young fellows will be laughing up their sleeves at my old-fashioned ideas. Right now a large slice of technology is passing into history, with analog(ue) television going and AM/FM broadcast radio soon to follow - I think that I will miss it.

4. bertus

Administrator

Apr 5, 2008
  5. someonesdad

Jul 7, 2009