'The art of electronics' is a worthless piece of garbage! !!

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by imbaine13, Feb 11, 2015.

1. imbaine13

Thread Starter Member

Oct 6, 2013
    I recently acquired The art of electronics and I have discovered it really wasn't worth it, especially considering it doesn't seem like a self study book (contrary to popular belief). It has been two years since I started learning electronics and I have built and prototyped a lot if circuits but I still can't go a page if this book (chapter 2) without thinking too hard and eventually giving up that section out of frustration. I am currently trying to learn how to build relatively good (thd <0.01) audio amps and I thought this book along with 'high power audio amplifier construction manual - G. Randy Slone' would do the trick but both have terribly disappointed me. Might anyone have any idea where to start with audio amplifiers (something simpler)? Perhaps an actual self study book and not something pretending to be one!

2. JoseBarbosa

Jun 13, 2014
    For me "The Art of Electronics" is one of the best books I ever bought!

Sensacell, shortbus and absf like this.
  3. joeyd999

AAC Fanatic!

Jun 6, 2011
    It was my bible for the early part of my career.

It has gotten a bit long in the tooth, though.

absf likes this.
  4. GopherT

AAC Fanatic!

Nov 23, 2012
    Well, first, you should post your question on All the sub-forums instead of just two.
    Then you should realize there are several types of books.

Some include,
    How to - not much in terms of theory, they just show you how to get it done. Step by step
    Reference Book (tables of data, and brief explanations, references of other texts where you can find more information)
    General Textbook (kind of an introduction to a subject that gives you the vocabulary and basis to discuss more advanced topics)
    Sub-topic specific textbooks (digs into the details without reviewing the basics)