Tent fan [help]

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Yousuf Al Falasi, Jul 12, 2015.

1. Yousuf Al Falasi

Thread Starter New Member

Jul 11, 2015
    Hello everyone, I have 2 Yuasa 7AH sealed lead acid batteries and an old 0.2 ampere car fan. I hooked up the batteries in parallel and installed a potentiometer to control the fan, but it burned out. I'd like to make the fan run longer by putting a motor speed controller, but i am worried that the circuit will burn out easily. Could someone help me out in choosing the right connections (parallel/series) that will increase the run of the fan. Also if possible how to calculate the resistors/capacitors needed to provide the correct current for the setup. I am currently a beginner in electronics so please bare with me :(

One more thing, what is the formula to calculate the current for the Ampere hours like know how much current will be flowing to the circuit

Best regards,

Yousuf

2. bertus

Administrator

Apr 5, 2008
  3. AnalogKid

Distinguished Member

Aug 1, 2013
    A resistor in series with the fan is one way to control the speed, but it is very inefficient and the resistor must be able to dissipate a lot of heat. For your fan you would need a 50 or 100 ohm potentiometer rated at 5 to 10 watts.