temperature controller

JGVerells

Joined Oct 16, 2013
Hello,
My question is which direction should I go to build a temperature control unit which will accept two input sensors and compare the difference between the two and turn on a fan when the difference is greater then what I have programed into the unit. The key is I don't want the unit to care what the temperatures are, just the difference of the temperatures.
As an example one room is 68 degrees F and the other is 76 degrees F so the fan would turn on if I have programed the unit to a 8 degree difference.

I thank you for your help.
JG

shteii01

Joined Feb 19, 2010
Sounds simple enough.

I have some experience with Arduino microcontroller board (uC). Two LM34 (LM34 for Farenheit) attached to Analog to Digital Converter on the uC. One PWM output on uC to simulate dc voltage to control fan speed. I hope you will have fan that has dc voltage control circuit built-in.

I used Arduino Due which produced 3.3 volts for PWM. Our fan used 0-1 volts for Stand By, 1-10 volts for various speeds. Since my uC using PWM could only simulate dc voltage 0-3.3 volts, I used op-amp to scale the 0-3.3 volts to 0-9.9 volts, gain of 3. Pretty simple.

You don't need all the features of Due. A simpler (and less expansive) Arduino uC board, that uses 5 volts would be even better for you. So you need board with:
2 ADC
1 PWM
Nothing fancy, I think most Arduino uC boards have those features.
And check the fan for the speed control information. If it uses dc 0-10 volts, you just use op-amp to make gain 2 amplifier.

Here temperature code:
http://learn.adafruit.com/tmp36-temperature-sensor

Here is how to simulate dc voltage using PWM:
http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/PWM

shteii01

Joined Feb 19, 2010
Or leave out the microprocessor and its programming, and look at Fig. 20 of the application note.
That is pretty sweet. Only need 1 ADC instead of 2 I was thinking about.