Temperature circuit help

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by mattinho, Mar 25, 2015.

1. mattinho

Thread Starter New Member

Mar 25, 2015
    I am new to electronics and am still learning so please go easy on me :)

I would like to build the following but have found myself stumped.

I would like to make a circuit that can detect both increases and decreases in ambient air temperature. I need 3 LEDs on the circuit, a base led that I can use to set the base reading by use of a pot. The other two would be on either side, one for increases and the other for decreases in the set temperature. If possible I would like to add a buzzer that would sound when either of the outside LEDs light(temperature change). All to be powered by a 9v battery.

I hope this makes sense. Any help you can offer will be very much appreciated.

2. Dodgydave

Distinguished Member

Jun 22, 2012
    would you like chips/fries with that Sir?

3. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    Look up "window comparator" and LM35 thermometer.

You might want to look at LM3914, which is a fancy window comparator meant for 10 levels of indication, not just 3.

4. MikeML

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 2, 2009
    Actually, three comparators. Since they come 4 to an ic package (LM339), this should be compact.

What are the deltas between ambient and low trip, and ambient and high trip? How many degC or degF? What is the normal ambient range?

5. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    Actually, just two are needed for a window. ;)

6. MikeML

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 2, 2009
    I was figuring he needs to know that he is in the middle of the interval between the high trip and low trip, hence three :p (wasn't born yesterday)

7. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    Well, then you'd need all 4 on the LM339. Two for the inner window and two for the outer extremes.

We need some specifications.

8. MikeML

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 2, 2009