Tattoo power supply redesign

TheMunkee

Joined Nov 3, 2016
Hello aac, I am new to the site, first post, and a newbie in electronics. So I ask for your patience and understanding.

So a little background, I'm an electrician, so I have a basic understanding of electricity, but know nothing of IC's and building pcb's or any of that sort of thing.

The project, my friend and I had the idea to make a new and improved tattoo power supply that will eventually be integrated into a tattoo cart/tray. What will differentiate the power supply from what's out there now is the ability to set up, plug in, and have separate setting for multiple tattoo machines. I also want to control hz's and volts seperatly. We also want onboard batteries so we have the option to untether from the wall for a few hours.

Progress, we have built a prototype out of pre-built parts and peaces ordered online. But, we have only been able to achieve multiple outputs with one set setting.

I achieved this by simply hooking the tattoo power supply output to a 6 channel wireless relay board and connecting the relay outputs to the tattoo machines.

A few problems with that, with the current set up it takes two "wall warts" or external power supplies to make it all function, the set up depends on a third party power supply, and the output channels aren't adjustable individualy.

So my questions are, how can I modify the circuit of a tattoo power supply so I can add multiple adjustable outputs? And would it be hard to add a volt meter to that? And, how do I add a battery to the mix that can show battery usagage, charge and so on?

I've been doing research and stumbled on to this: https://www.google.com/patents/US6392460

I thought I could maybe base myself on that design but don't understand it enough to know where I can safely add stuff.