Taking microwave oven apart

ElectricMagician

Joined Jul 26, 2012
Good morning,

I have an old microwave oven that I want to take apart.

I understand the danger involved is mainly in the energy stored in the capacitor, and in accidentally grinding the magnetron while taking it apart.

Are there other major safety concerns that I need to take care of?

Also, what kind of current should I expect when discharging the capacitor?

The schematic shows a discharge resistor but doesn't state any values.

By the time I take it apart, it would not have been operated for about 20 hours.

(just for the reference - I am an Electrical engineer, and I have taken lengthy safety training at school, so I will take the basic safety precautions.)

Thank you

Attachments

alfacliff

Joined Dec 13, 2013
20 hours should be enough, but put a shorting jjumper across the capo if your going to take it out of circuit, sometimes those things build up a charge after being discharged. dialectric abaorption and all that.
watch for sharp edges on the tin, they dont deburr those things very much these days.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
The capacitor is not a DC filter cap. It is a voltage doubler. It should be dead empty in a minute or two. Just leave the installed resistor connected at all times and you'll be safe.

Do not connect the transformer to a power line unless you know what you're going to do with a thousand volts! Us nerds use them with a Variac to get a few hundred volts for vacuum tube circuits.

takao21203

Joined Apr 28, 2012
One time I had 3x 400 volts Microwave transformers around.

with a 9v adapter on the filament winding, I got 1cm sparks.

with a TRIAC regulator on the primary, I was able to melt the electrodes.

However, I disposed them- too dangerous, too much space, and not really good for any my purposes.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Did you just catch me being wrong? (It has happened before.) I'll go check my spares and see what the real values are.