Tachometer and frequency meter build in the same device

vresak

Joined Aug 23, 2012
I am in need of tachometer and frequency meter build in the same device. For the tachometer I need
to measure a range up to 550000rpm- five hundred fifteen thousandths (dental hand piece).
I need to measure higher rpm. It is important that it starts from
150000rpm up. With the frequency meter I need to measure range up to 40 KHz.

I found this project on the internet and it has a incorporated frequency meter and tachometer
http://8085projects.info/small-digital-display-frequency-meter-tachometer.html

It looks like it is not a hard job to make it. I am not sure (I am a beginner in electronics) Does AT90S2313
need to be programed or not, because I did not find that it is written anywhere. If programing
is needed, where could I find the program. Has any of you done anything similar to this?
Which hall sensor would be best for this application?
Thank you in advance

vk6zgo

Joined Jul 21, 2012
A tachometer & a frequency counter do very similar things.
A tacho reads out RPM(revs/minute),& a Frequency counter Hz(cycles/second),kHz,MHz,etc.

A car tacho normally looks at ignition pulses,counts them over a set period,applies a correction factor for the number of cylinders,either in calibration or in software.

A frequency counter could look at the same pulses(with an appropriate interface so you don't blow it up) & give a readout in Hz,etc.

You could then calculate the rotational speed in RPM,applying all necessary corrections.
The counter may do this in software,so that it becomes a frequency counter/tachometer.

Note,though,that spark ignition engines provide a convenient signal to count.

Electric,or pneumatic motors,do not,so the conventional ways to measure the speed of the devices are to either fit a sensor of some kind to the motor which will provide the necessary pulses,or use a stroboscope,which illuminates a mark on the rotating shaft.