Tabata timer

Treeman

Joined May 22, 2014
Hi all, first , great site where I will no doubt now spend vast portions of my life:D. I'm a virtual beginner in electronics but not too stoopid.
After a spectacular motorcycle crash I was helped by a great physio who I'd like to repay with a project.
Tabata - is a 4 minute exercise program consisting of 20 secs work 10 secs rest 8 times before collapsing. Following my accident I have played with audio circuits and preamp but I'd really like to make a Tabata timer for my physio.
I have looked at 555, 4017 and RC circuits and am bemused slightly about flip flops but before experimenting I must admit I'm a bit conceptually lost :eek: in getting the WHOLE project to be automatic. I'd really like some pointers if possible.

I would like my timer to do the following:
Switch start (SPST) then 17 sec silence and 3 warning beeps (or a continuous 3 sec alarm)-total time 20 secs. After that the 10 sec timer begins, 7 secs silence then 3 more beeps (or a continuous 3 sec alarm). This repeats 8 times then stops (I imagine a boxing round type bell going off.)

The projects may then be built into a Kendo type stick (or hand grenade!) or something bizarre.

Many thanks.

Last edited:

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
You can buy these online for under $30, and of course this can be done with the smallest of microcontrollers, but sticking with an all-hardware approach...

Is this a correct restatement of the problem:

On
10 seconds without beeps
10 seconds with three beeps at the end
10 seconds with three beeps at the end
Repeat 8 times
Unique finish sound
Stop

ak

Treeman

Joined May 22, 2014
Hi and thanks for reply:
I'm a make do and mend type and can't bring myself to buy one. They are also not available in kendo stick format (yet!)

Click ON (spst on end of kendo stick)
Timer counts 20 secs while exerciser works - last 3 secs of 20count are beep beep beep (warning that the rest period is approaching)