T Suffix on Semiconductors Same as NON-T counterparts?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by crosswired, Feb 10, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. crosswired

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 10, 2015
    Hey guys,

this is my introduction here on the forums as well as my first question.

I am a budding programmer who likes to do electronics in my spare time, and I want to make a back-off module for my car's tail lights. Similar to the ambulance's/school-bus' wig-wags that strobe their tail-lights when they press their brakes.

Circuit here:http://www.sentex.ca/~mec1995/circ/motflash.html

I also like to pickup my components locally but the local electronics store doesnt have the main semiconductor i need, NTE 4093b [CMOS], instead they have a 4093BT which it calls itself a triggered 4093B but when I look up datasheet's for the 4093B it also sometimes refers to itself as a schimitt triggered semiconductor.

Is the 4039BT = 4039B ?

Also, for those of us who do not have the luxury of a local electronics store, or for those obscure parts where you have to resort to an online retailer are there any well liked virtual stores in the community? My local store only had 2 4093B semiconductors and I plan on buying extras in case i fry the first board, and i always tend to do a better job on the second board most of the time anyways.

Just looking for a little information here on the "T" (trigger) suffix on some semiconductors product labeling.

2. JWHassler

Sep 25, 2013
    The 'T' suffix (in two instances I found) indicates that the part is surface-mount. The 4093 is always a Schmitt trigger type part.

3. crosswired

Feb 10, 2015
    Arent surface mounted components typically soldered with machines? should i be looking for the 4093B's "Through-hole" predecessor or can I hand solder the SMT 4039B ?

4. JWHassler

Sep 25, 2013