System Analysis RL circuit

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by kenneth dean, Nov 19, 2014.

1. kenneth dean

Thread Starter New Member

Nov 19, 2014
    [​IMG]
    I'm fairly new to circuits and i'm having a bit of trouble with these questions.
    So far i've got: Vo(t) = Vr(t), Vr(t) = -Ri(t), Vo(t) = Vr(t) = L di/dt(t)
    Therefore L di/dt(t) + Ri(t) = 0 , I know then I have to use laplace transformation to get the solution, but I don't know if i'm even close with what I have atm, so any help would be great thanks!

2. shteii01

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 19, 2010
    I have a question regarding Vr(t)=-R*i(t).
    Why is there negative sign in front of R? Where did it come from?

3. kenneth dean

Nov 19, 2014
    I was talking it that "i" is flowing clockwise and Vr is negative to positive from bottom to top of resistor, and therefore the current is flowing from negative to positive across the resistor. But then again I might be wrong, i'm not sure

4. WBahn

Mar 31, 2012
    You can define i(t) to be anything you want -- the problem is that you didn't define it at all! Not only did you not define the direction, you didn't even define what component(s) it was flowing through.

Always define your variables, engineering is not about guessing.

5. shteii01

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 19, 2010
    Have you studied current dividers yet?

Because R and L form a current divider. The I1 enters the current divider and gets divided into two portions. Portion One passes though R. Portion Two passes though L. Once the two portions rejoin, they form I1 again.

And since I now mentioned current divider. It seems to me that your i(t) is wrong. You are using same i(t) for resistor and for inductor. Which is wrong. I1 gets split into two different currents when it enters current divider. So i(t) through resistor CAN NOT be possibly be the same i(t) that passes through inductor.

6. kenneth dean

Nov 19, 2014