Synchronous 3-Bit JK Flip-Flop Counter

ublu32

Joined Aug 21, 2010
Hi,
I'm studying for exams soon and trying to do the following question;
Design a synchronous circuit using JK F/F to produce 0,3,5,6,1,7,4,2,0...(Binary)

My knowledge of this course is very basic I'm afraid so I'd appreciate any help I can get! I'm confused as to whether just flip-flops and AND gates is enough? Can somebody give me an idea of where to start or what I need to do, I'm really confused...! :(

Thanks guys!

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
Grab a data sheet for a 74LS161. That's a 4 bit synchronous counter with JK's inside. That will show how to make a counter.

ublu32

Joined Aug 21, 2010
Ok, I've tried to figure this out and come up with this kind of circuit, but I'm not sure its right? Hopefully I'm on the right track though, could domebody have a look and let me know where I'm going wrong, obv the flip flops would all be connected to a clock, I just havent drawn it in....?

Attachments

Georacer

Joined Nov 25, 2009
Please be more careful with what you write. If I'm correct you don't need a counter (0,1,2,3...) but a layout that will go through the sequence you mentioned (0,3,5,6,1,7,4,2), am I right? Do you have access to the textboot "Digital Design" of M. Mano? It will help a lot. Do you have any experience with FSM's (Finite State Machines)

ublu32

Joined Aug 21, 2010
My apologies, I assumed that as it is counting but up and down it was a counter! As I said, my knowledge is pretty basic. This is a module which I must pass to get into my final year of a mechanical eng. degree. I missed most of this module due to illness so I'm struggling with this repeat exam as I'm pretty much on my own! I'm afraid I don't have access to this book at the minute, unless its available online perhaps?

Georacer

Joined Nov 25, 2009
Let's start from the basics. You have numbers that reach up to 7, so you need 3 flip flops.