Symmetrical component equation question.

mbohuntr

Joined Apr 6, 2009
I may be taking a class in protective relaying soon, and need to get a jump on the math since I'm no engineer. The attached link shows Fortesque's theory in matrix form on page(s) 2 and 3. If anyone has the time, could they do a calculation using imaginary voltages? I am beginning to understand the "a" operator, but maybe if someone were to write out a complete calculation using TEX, I would grasp it easier. (I tried TEX, and haven't got it yet.) I do understand the concept of positive, negative and zero sequences, I just can't seem to put it together in any coherent fashion. (The equation doesn't have to follow the matrix method, It might be easier to calculate individual phases like the middle of page three.) I guess I don't understand the process or the goal. Thanks a LOT, this will be a lot of work. Mike

http://www.ece.umd.edu/class/enee474.F2003/PDF%20Files/chp10_1.pdf

Last edited:

t_n_k

Joined Mar 6, 2009
I'm not clear on what you want.

Do you require a worked example of how you get from the unbalanced 3-phase set to the symmetrical component equivalent set? Surely that's what the (attached) document writer has already attempted to demonstrate.

What's the relevance of your requirement to have it written in TEX?

mbohuntr

Joined Apr 6, 2009
Yes, for some reason I can't wrap my head around the process as well as the result. I understand adding the zero sequence component vectors to obtain zero current on the neutral, but I am not clear on what to do with unbalanced components. I figured if someone came up with some imaginary phase voltages, and worked the problem, it would become clear to me. No, this isn't homework, I already graduated. :rolleyes: My math skills are weak when equations are concerned. Thanks, Mike (It doesn't have to be in TEX, but that comes out the clearest. )

subtech

Joined Nov 21, 2006
I may be too late in getting here...