Swords into Plowshares.....Army radio stuff, Part 4

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by KL7AJ, Aug 29, 2016.

1. KL7AJ

Thread Starter AAC Fanatic!

Nov 4, 2008
    Although I've never been active duty in any military service, I've worked on military radios and radars for about 45 years....concurrent with my other careers in broadcasting and science. As a contractor, I've generally stayed around my different devices longer than the G.I.'s I work with just because of the nature of the game. So I have TONS of practical experience on everything from hydraulics to radar.

As I've mentioned before, the venerable Signal Corps is no more. Most of the signal command folks are really just I.T. folks; i's really hard to find an old school radio man any more...and even the radar pukes are getting harder to find.

On the plus side of this....it's probably a good sign that the military electronics has gotten so reliable that things can be kept up and running with a few card swappers. I suppose if the Army really NEEDED high end technician/engineer hybrids amongst the troops, they'd be screaming for them....but I haven't seen much indication of this. The Armed services seem to be content to leave the hard stuff to the contractors (like me)....which isn't necessarily a new thing...it's been this way since the Cold War. Not complaining, either, mind you; they're probably paying me a lot more than I'm worth....MOST of the time. When there's a major crash, I do earn my keep.