Switch's, Subtraction and Display

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by aumandg, Feb 10, 2013.

1. aumandg

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 10, 2013
    I am new to this kind of work and have no idea where to start looking for the parts I need for this project and need your help.

My friend has a dice game that uses the numbers 2 thru 12. I would like to make one but would like it to do some math for me. The idea is that when I flip up a block of wood, 11 pieces numbered 2 thru 12, a momentary switch will be activated and subtract that number from 77 and display results on a OLED display. If more than one block is flipped up, all of those blocks are subtracted from 77 and displayed.

This is the idea, OLED display is connected to a circuit board and all momentary switches are connected to circuit board as the momentary switches are lifted circuit board does the math and displays result on OLED.

I have found momentary switches and OLED.
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/2pcs-64X48-...690?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item5add012632

http://www.ebay.com/itm/320950857444?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

Assuming these items will work, I need a suggestion for a circuit board and the directions on to program the board to do the math?

Thank you for your help.

2. takao21203

Distinguished Member

Apr 28, 2012
    Get a PICKIT3 clone from eBay + a PIC 18F24J10.

These displays have serial interface.

I have used said PIC for a 1.8" color TFT. It is certainly good enough for monochrome.

You need a 3.3V regulator as well, and a USB adapter or 5V electronic transformer.

You can also work it from batteries. Mind it displays need about 3 volts, can't work from 2.4 volts.

For the display you need a SMD LCD adapter PCB.

Unfortunately I do not see a datasheet for the OLED which you actually will need.

3. thatoneguy

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 19, 2009
    The linked OLED doesn't have a serial interface.