Switching both +ve and -ve lines of 24v load via 5v

rasikaa

Joined Feb 3, 2010
Hi,

I am a bit of a newbie on the electronics side although I have done lots of trial and error electronics projects mostly digital. For a small project that I am planning I need to control several sets of 24v lights by switching them in both the +ve and -ve sides via 5v lines coming from some TTL logic circuits. Consider this more like one half of a H bridge motor controller.

I can go with OptoCouplers, but the cost of the optocouplers is too high for my budget as I need to create around 50 of these. I would prefer a pair of Darlingtons to be used for the switching. Each +ve -ve pair should be able to drive at least 3A. I have used D313 in the past for switching both +ve and -ve loads for loads ~5v by putting the emitter and collector in the opposite directions, but this setup is not capable of switching the 24v load (probably due to the base current being too low).

I would prefer to use the D313 as one of the power transistor as I have heaps of them lying around, but others are OK as well. Can anyone suggest a way for me to get this done.

Thanks in advance.

Rasika

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
Why do you need to switch a light bulb between the +ve and -ve supply?

The D313 is not suitable for this applciaton because its maximum collector current is just 3A. This is the current of the light bulb and it is not recommended to use a transistor with a max Ic of 3A. Use one with a maximum Ic of more than 4.5A. Also, the DC gain of the transistor is only 40 and thus a TTL IC cannot supply enough current as to switch 3A. You can use logic level MOSFETs for this application.

What is the swtching frequency?

russ_hensel

Joined Jan 11, 2009
Generally switching is easier on the low side. Google low side switch. How about a schematic of what you are thinking. Are u using a bipolar supply, + - and gnd, you description seems to suggest u are.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007