Switching a power Source!!

billyr98

Joined Apr 6, 2007
Ok well I will try to explain what I want to do... First I am an electrician, so i don't mind trying to attempt any kind of wiring...

I have an electronic ballast for a 250w Metal Halide bulb.. I have it on a timer to come on from 12pm - 8pm.. No problem... This is perfect.. The bulb in the 250w socket is 6500k lamp color...

I want to be able to run one 250w bulb from 12pm-4pm and another color lamp in another socket from 4pm-8pm...

I dont mind turning off the ballast for like 5 mins to fire up the second color lamp...

My first drawing was to have a timer on the ballast.. Turn it on from 12pm-4pm and then off from 4:01pm to 4:05pm and back on at 4:06pm to 8pm...

No problem there.. but how do I switch the load off the ballast from lamp to the other at 4:02pm - 4:04pm before the ballast fires back up...

Thank you so much for any questions and tips!!

wireaddict

Joined Nov 1, 2006
Time Mark makes an alternator that automatically toggles between 2 outputs. Only problem is that they run on 120 VAC [& possibly 240 V, too]. What you want to do is a little complicated & expensive. First of all, assuming that both lamps will work with this ballast, you'll need to connect the AC inputs to the ballast & the alternator to the timer so the both turn on & off together. Next you'll need to connect a relay to each alternator output [2 total] so that they energize alternately. Then connect a normally-open contact from each relay beteen the ballast & each lamp.

Another idea is to use one timer & alternator with 2 complete light fixtures, ballasts & all, so the alternator switches the fixtures; that would eliminate the relays & shorten the off time between lighting cycles. Or use 2-24-hour timers & 2 fixtures; that would eliminate the alternator as well. See which way is the cheapest.

billyr98

Joined Apr 6, 2007