Switching 2000 Volts

Levitylab

Joined Mar 16, 2013
I would like to use a solid state switch to discharge a bank of eight 250 volt/560 microfarad capacitors, wired in series, into a load. Currently, I am using a 40TPS12A SCR, rated at 1200 volts/40 amps to discharge a bank of four of these same capacitors, wired in series, into my load, which, effectively, is a short circuit. But, scouring the internet, it looks like the highest rated SCR is 1400 volts. Is there any other device that would satisfy my requirements?

Levitylab

Joined Mar 16, 2013
Thanks for the replies, I'll check out the links after I do my daily bike ride, which I'm just about to head out on.

Actually, it's a bit of an esoteric project, that I've been pursuing for several years, off and on. Back in 1996 a Russian materials scientist, by the name of Evgeny Podkletnov, claimed to have observed a 0.05% drop in the force of gravity above a rotating superconductor, while he was working in Finland.

Later he modified the setup by discharging 2 million volts from a copper plate, about a foot in diameter, to a similar sized YBCO superconductor disc, some distance away. Allegedly, a distant target, consisting of a solid rubber ball suspended on a thread, was physically displaced a small amount. When his physicist assistant calculated the force required, they concluded a "gravitational impulse" of about 100 microseconds duration and 1000 g's was produced, in a collimated beam.

My intent is to try essentially the same experiment, but with lower voltages and currents. By simple scaling, assuming there is any truth to these claims, I was hoping to see something in the neighborhood of about 1 g, which should be easy to detect with the commercial accelerometer that I'm using. Even if it's only 1/10th of that it should be recognizable.