Switch-Mode Power Supply

Andy Larson

Joined Mar 26, 2015
I had posted a thread pertaining to a linear PSU a little bit ago. One came forward and said that i should make a Switch-Mode Power Supply. I just want confirmation that I have correct info on what I need. This is a hobby project btw.

Circuits I need:
  1. Power Factor Correction
  2. Insulated Gate Bipolar Transistor
  3. PWM Controller
  4. Isolated error Amplifier
  5. Output rectifier
  6. Input and Output Filter
  7. Optocoupler
Specs I'm aiming for:
adjustable 1-30v at 1.5A DC <5% ripple
Current adjustment would be nice but isn't needed
Budget:
$300 max

As a side note, I'm a highschool student with intermediate electronics and electrical knowledge. I do have basic tools and a soldering station. I do know how to solder and test for voltage, amps, resistance via a multimeter I own.

Reloadron

Joined Jan 15, 2015
Hi Andy

Looking at your requirements:
Adjustable 1-30v at 1.5A DC <5% ripple

If you can live with a low end of 1.2 volts I would not bother trying to build a SMPS but just build a very simple Linear Power Supply around a LM317 Regulator. The data sheep provides several simple circuit examples. You should be able to find a line stepdown transformer easy enough that will take mains down to around 30 Volts and a few rectifiers to comprise a full wave bridge. For example TRANSFORMER, LOW POWER, 117V, 50/60HZ, 28.0VCT @ 2.000A, LEADS. That gets you a transformer rated for 2 Amps. Any number of simple bridge rectifiers can be used, they typically cost about $4.00 USD. You are looking at under $50 USD and if you want to be cool you can snag a nice little current / voltage meter on Ebay for literally a few bucks to compliment the project.