Supercapacitors in parallel

ttf

Joined Mar 11, 2015
Hi, I did an experiment to compare voltage drop for two cases. First case, a supercapacitor (1F rated at 3.6V) is charged up to 3.6v and connected to a load. Second case, two supercapacitors (1F rated at 3.6V each) connected in parallel, are charged up to 3.6v and connected to the same load. In the first case, I observed a drop of 0.37v after 24 hours. In the second case, I observed a drop of only 0.05v after 24 hours. I am a novice at this and find this quite puzzling. What are the possible explanations for the superior performance for the parallel configuration? Thank you.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
I'm willing to bet that 1) the load was not really the same, or 2) the first capacitor has a much lower capacity and/or higher leakage rate than the second one.

Test #2 on it's own.

nsaspook

Joined Aug 27, 2009
The first thing to do is to repeat the experiment after double checking all measurement devices, values and procedures independently.

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
Or there was a temperature difference between the two tests.

Having two capacitor in parallel not loosing as much charge as a single capacitor brings to mind something similar. Cleaning out our desks for summer vacation at the end of the 5th grade, Cliff showed me two 9 volt batteries he had in his desk. Then he plugged them together and said "Feel this...they are getting warm because they are charging each other." (True story)

ttf

Joined Mar 11, 2015
Thanks guys for the comments so far. I will definitely repeat the experiments again to check through. In the meantime, I have a couple of questions below.

Or there was a temperature difference between the two tests.