Super cool signal device

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by gravitor91, Jul 22, 2013.

1. gravitor91

Thread Starter New Member

Jul 22, 2013
    Hey guys im a newbie and need a solution to a problem i've encountered. Here it is... There is a point in the circuit where the resistence has to vary between 9 given points at a given frequency (from 1Hz to about 40Hz or even less). IDK how to make it happen in a clean way, my initial idea was a rotating engine and a set of pots but thats no good, im thinking microcontroller switch or something but im clueless about that... any help ? :)

BTW the device is 9v low amp circuit so there isn't much power involved

2. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    I have no clue what you're talking about. A schematic will save a lot of time. Maybe you just need a potentiometer? What does frequency have to do with adjusting resistance?

gravitor91 likes this.
  3. piranha3380

May 28, 2013
  4. gravitor91

Jul 22, 2013
    ok sorry for the confusing description wayneh, let me go at it again, im making a signal distorting device which depends upon the value of resistor between the IN and OUT, but that value must not be constant, but variate between the 9 other possible resistences conected at it, one at a time. So D1 would be a signal switch of some sort that automatically turns R1 on, and all others off, then proceeds to turning R2 on, and all others off, and so on. The frequency on which the D1 returns to R1 (red) is to be variable, and between 1Hz and 40Hz or so.
    Here is an image of it.

5. odinhg

Jul 22, 2009
    If you've got a microcontroller already, maybe you could use a digital potentiometer?

Or something less expensive like a 4017 counter controlling some FETs and clocked from a schmitt trigger oscillator?

gravitor91 likes this.
  6. GopherT

AAC Fanatic!

Nov 23, 2012
    Use a multiplexer or bilateral switch.

7. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    Thanks for making it much clearer.