Suggestions on actuator home project

jut

Joined Aug 25, 2007
Hello,

I have a vent that I want to control using electronics and some sort of actuator since it's really high on the wall.

Here's a picture of the vent and the knob that pushes up or down to close the vent.

I figured some sort of actuator could push up or pull down the knob.. but I don't have any experience with actuators so I was hoping someone could give me a few pointers. Oh, and I have about 5 years experience with microcontrollers (PIC) and know basic electronics from studying this website.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
So, what are your criteria for opening or closing the register?

I had a similar situation in my home.

I bought a stepstool. :D

thingmaker3

Joined May 16, 2005
If it were me, I'd pull the register and decipher the mechanics inside. There might be an easier (and more aesthetic) way of moving those louvers.

jut

Joined Aug 25, 2007
So, what are your criteria for opening or closing the register?

I had a similar situation in my home.

I bought a stepstool. :D
Haha, yeah I knew someone would say that. But the vent is in front of a long table that's about 3 feet deep. Getting up on a chair and reaching for it is a pain. So why do I want to close the vent? My landlord makes stinky, annoying food that I would rather not smell when I'm sleeping.

And besides, I like playing around with electronics :)

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Put a current sensing loop on the power cord to landlord's stove, and run it into your apartment. In your apartment, connect a spring-return solenoid to the vent lever, powered by a 555 timer. The timer is tripped in monostable mode when current is detected in the landlord's stove circuit, closing the vent. The timer's components are selected to provide a 20-minute delay; 20 minutes after the landlord's stove is turned off, the solenoid de-energises and the vent is opened again.