Suggestions/critique on 1MHz eddy/inductive prox. sensor.

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by RRThygesen, Oct 31, 2012.

1. RRThygesen

Thread Starter New Member

Oct 31, 2012
    Hi everyone.

Im studying mechatronics, and have a habit that every semester needs to have a electronics project, and my current project has blown the gantt chart out of the water, but I still need to get this done right, so I was hoping for some comments before sending this of to the lab.

What I have built so far, and what also seems to work with some noise added, is a inductive/eddy sensor, where a 1MHz sine drives a wheatstone impedance bridge, with a sensor coil and a ref. coil for temperature compensation. The imbalance of the bridge is measured with an inamp, with unity gain. This is gained by 20, and then 20 in a precision rectifier. The signal is the filtered in a 4th order butterworth LP, with a -100dB gain @ 1 MHz and roughly 40us settling time. Then the DC is picked up by another inamp, for offset and final gain. All ICs are decoupled with 100n from +15V and -15V to GND, and "reservoir" capacitors has been added in my this version, so I'm sure there's no power shortage. The system is driven with a function generator and a bench power supply.

I have built a total of 3 prototypes, one on breadboard which convinced me that I could actually pull it off, and then 2 on PCB that had several faults, some related to design and other due to my inexperience with EAGLE. Therefore Ive had some difficulties finding the exact causes of the problems: Noise in my final signal, and the NOW IT WORKS/NOW IT DOESN'T WORK syndrome, where nothing is changed, except for the days left to deadline..

If you would please look through the latest version, Ive also included the PCB layout since this obviously is a real performance killer in AC-applications (which I was totally unaware of initially).