Suggestion on table lookup for LCD display

dmarciano

Joined Oct 10, 2007
I'm going to be using a Hantronix LCD in a project and this requires sending each column of pixels one at a time. I was planning on using a lookup table to send each letter or word. However this is my first time using lookup tables so I'm hoping someone can provide a suggestion. This code is simplified and was designed to help me learn lookups. Basically this code should read the hex code for the letter 'H'. After loading each byte the code jumps to a section which will actually send it to the LCD and then continue the loop. Once it has read all the data it should loop back to 'Start' (at least in this test version)

Rich (BB code):
Start	movwf	tt,0
		movlw	low(H_CHAR)
		addwf	tt,0,0
		movwf	TBLPTRL,0
		movlw	high(H_CHAR)
		movwf	TBLPTRU,0
lpl		tblrd	*+
		movlw	.153
		CPFSLT	TABLAT
		GOTO	Start
		GOTO	Send

Send	movf	TABLAT,0,0
		movwf	PORTA
		GOTO	lpl

H_CHAR	db	0x00,0xfe
        db  0x10,0x10
		db  0xfe,0x99
My problem is figuring out when it has read all the data. I was think of using 0x99 but realized I can't because if I wanted to enable all the pixels in a single column that would be 0xFF which is the highest, and if I wanted a column with no pixels on I would need to send 0x00, so any number in between these two values is possible.

What is a good way so determine when I have read all the data in the 'H_CHAR' table (in this example)? The 0x99 is not part of the actual data being sent to the LCD screen. After reading the last 0xFE and jumping to 'Send', when it returns to the 'lpl' loop the code should somehow be able to figure out/know that all the data was read.