Suggested correction

Discussion in 'Feedback and Suggestions' started by ksquare, Oct 11, 2009.

1. ksquare

Thread Starter New Member

Oct 11, 2009
    First - what a great site! I've been assigned the task of teaching electronics to a group of guys with no real background in the field (other than working on large 3 phase UPS systems with high voltage). Although I'm an engineer, teaching this material to this kind of audience is an interesting challenge. Your site has given me ideas on how to explain things.

On the Ohm's Law (again!) page in Vol. 1, the text states "the more resistance a body offers to current, the slower electrons will flow for any given amount of voltage." Is this accurate? I would suggest that increased resistance reduces the number of electrons passing a given point, not their speed. One coulomb per second is one amp. True, if we could slow the electrons down, we would reduce the number of coulombs per second and therefore reduce the current. But I don't think a resistor slows down electrons. I think it reduces the quantity by reducing the number of free electrons. Yes, the result would be the same - reduced current - but the mechanics are different. It seems to me that the sentence should state "the more resistance a body offers to current, fewer electrons will flow for any given amount of voltage." Am I wrong (it has happened)?

Then again, if we examine things from a quantum viewpoint, perhaps those electrons are being diverted to a galaxy in a different universe <g>

2. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004
    The definition of current is a quantity of electrons passing a point per unit of time. So the statement
    says the same thing as
    The net result is that fewer electrons pass the measuring point in either case. It's a difference that makes no difference.

3. ksquare

Thread Starter New Member

Oct 11, 2009
    Hi beenthere,