Studying in the USA

tom66

Joined May 9, 2009
I'm a UK student. In less than a year, I get to make my university choices.

I am wondering if it is worth me studying in the USA. Somewhere like MIT would be fantastic.

The tuition will actually be lower. Although MIT is $55k/yr, because I live in a low income household, I would only be looking at ~$4,400/yr, if not zero (it's zero if <$75k and I haven't added it up, but it's probably very close.) That's cheaper than the UK.

Of course I'd have to get there and find a place to live and ship some of my stuff there.

If I like it I might even apply to live there permanently. The UK is boring for engineering. The US opens great prospects for me.

ElectrEng

Joined Jun 27, 2011
MIT is a good school but there are other's that are just as good. MIT has become a name more than anything, though is still a great university. Check out some of the southern universities also, like Georgia Tech. I can tell you from my own experiences that when it comes to engineering it will mostly depend on you as to how much you learn and how well you do. The better universities may have some of the better professors, but if you don't do your part then it doesn't really matter. And you can learn just as much at a lesser university also, if you take it upon yourself to do so. Im almost finished with a Masters in Electrical Engineering from the University of South Florida at the moment and most of what I've learned was on my own with constant studying and dedication. MIT is a good choice, but look into others also.