Stereo headphone jack: how can I make it mono?

cazksboy

Joined Nov 9, 2009
This question may be so simple even a caveman could answer it - but I'm stumped! I did my due diligence with a search; I couldn't find anything related to my question.
I am a musician (I play electric bass) and I am trying to follow along with my instructor's lessons, in mp3 format. I have them loaded into my mp3 player, listening with a nice set of headphones. I realized that the lessons were mixed in the studio with the spoken vocal lesson in the left channel and the instructor's electric bass in the right channel.
My problem is that I am deaf in my left ear (born that way) so I can't hear anything coming out of the left headphone cup.
MY QUESTION: Is there a way I can rig some kind of adapter that will sum the left and right channels into a single monaural channel? That way I could hear all the material out of my good ear.
Before you ask, I know I could just use a boom box, but I prefer to use headphones - it just works better for me that way.
Thanks in advance,
...Doug

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
@cazksboy

The software solution will be the best in general. There is one trick - If there is absolutely nothing in common on the two channels, and you claim there is not so this MIGHT work. Put a piece of scotch tape around the sleeve of the plug (closest to the cord, leaving the tip and center conductor as is). you may have to turn up the volume 2x of what you normally do. A quick and easy solution (hopefully). I haven't thought it out completely but, the risk of failure is limited.

cazksboy

Joined Nov 9, 2009
Thanks guys. I was hoping to steer clear of software, so GopherT's suggestion sounds like something to try.

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013