Step-down transformer secondary center tap to chassis ground?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by maw455, Jul 22, 2016.

1. maw455

Thread Starter Member

Jul 20, 2016
    Hello:

I'm an amateur trying to do my homework before attempting to build a small, regulated bench power supply and have a question about center-tapped step-down transformers, specifically what to do with the secondary center tap, i.e., leave it unconnected or connect it to chassis ground when using a full-wave bridge rectifier (4 diode). I'm in the US using standard 120V household voltage as a mains supply.

Say I have a 15V 300 mA step-down transformer 7.5-0-7.5V, and I want to get 15VDC using an off-the-shelf full-wave bridge rectifier (4 diode). As I understand it, there will be a voltage drop across the diodes and that with no load the output voltage will be higher than 15V, but I'm ignoring that for purposes of this question. To do this, I connect the two outside legs of the secondary winding to the transformer input legs of the bridge rectifier. The positive output of the bridge rectifier becomes the +DCV for the circuit, and the negative output becomes my 0V, correct?