State Machine problem Help.

alejandrodj

Joined Sep 10, 2012
hey guys. i was given a homework and i was wondering if you can help me get started. im not good at this and i need help.

the problem is. there are 4 LED, and i have to come up with a table that describe them lighting in sequence. transition table, exitation table. and ultimately an equation that performs this using JK flip flops.

state 0 = 0 0 0 0
state 1 = 1 0 0 0
state 2 = 1 1 0 0
state 3 = 1 1 1 0
state 4 = 1 1 1 1
state 5 = 0 1 1 1
state 6 = 0 0 1 1
state 7 = 0 0 0 1
state 8 = 0 0 0 0

the rules are. two inputs. the first input controls the direction.(0 backward, 1 forward)
the second input controls the freeze. (0 not hold, 1 hold)

3 state bits
4 output bits.

I cant even start because dont i need 3 inputs? instead of just two?
how can i start?

Attachments

alejandrodj

Joined Sep 10, 2012
If i have to use JK flip flops i start by building a truth table:

J K Q
0 0 (nc)
0 1 0 (reset)
1 0 1 (set)
1 1 (toggle)

=

J K Q Q(next)
0 0 0 0
0 0 1 1
0 1 0 0
1 0 0 1
1 0 1 1
1 1 0 1
1 1 1 0

if im correct so far. what would be the next step?

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
the rules are. two inputs. the first input controls the direction.(0 backward, 1 forward)
the second input controls the freeze. (0 not hold, 1 hold)

3 state bits
4 output bits.

I cant even start because dont i need 3 inputs? instead of just two?
how can i start?
Why do you think you need 3 inputs? What do you think the three inputs need to be?

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
If i have to use JK flip flops i start by building a truth table:

J K Q
0 0 (nc)
0 1 0 (reset)
1 0 1 (set)
1 1 (toggle)

=

J K Q Q(next)
0 0 0 0
0 0 1 1
0 1 0 0
1 0 0 1
1 0 1 1
1 1 0 1
1 1 1 0

if im correct so far. what would be the next step?
You are correct in that this is the truth table for a JK flip flop, but that is not the best place to start for designing your circuit -- this comes much later.

The problem statement actually tells you what order to do things in: