Start without the end.

TechSpec

Joined Jul 9, 2007
Hi everyone

Perhaps this topic would fit the best under the general discussion but i thought this would suite much better to in here microcontroller section...

I started this new topic because what i read more and more in here, is that people try to short things, it means that people ask too easily about things which are way above their acknowledge: "how do i do that or this" and "help me out", "im new with this" and so on.

I understand perfectly that sometimes there is a point where its hard to figure out how we should do things and how to move on, and then we need to get more views from the others. Sometimes we are blind to ourselves and to our doings to see things what are obvious, thats why we need a kick in a *utt sometimes. But when we ask things from which we have no clue whatsoever, like "can i connect a motor directly to a processor"-type questions just shows us that the person has a lack of acknowledge about the basics. Electronics is a quite complex world with all of these 1000's of components and their variations, and many ways to put them together to get something to work.

Starting from the basics is a good way to start, read the law of ohm, put a LED and a resistor together and see how it works, then add a transistor and drive that, then make a delay to the base with RC line, see how that works, put two transistors, then add a logic circuit, next two logic circuits, perhaps an inverted logic, XOR,NOR,OR,AND,NAND, try their combinations, calculate current, power, voltage, make some simple devices like add a PTC resistors to measure trip points to temperature, combine different circuits, see how others have done these circuits and learn from them. Internet is a perfect place to start as is the literature in a library.