Stabilizer diagram????

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by ahmedahmedahmed, Jul 27, 2009.

  1. ahmedahmedahmed

    ahmedahmedahmed Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Gaza
    hi everybody

    I need a wiring diagram for AC voltage stabilizer

    Thanks
  2. Audioguru

    Audioguru New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    9,411
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    We don't need to stabilize our AC electrical voltage in Canada.
  3. ahmedahmedahmed

    ahmedahmedahmed Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Gaza
    HI
    First : I need it to learn on it.

    Second : In our city the voltage needs stabilizer

    Just for any one who have it to put for me.

    Two stabilizers: one for single phase and other for three phase with one kilo VA

    Thanks
  4. Audioguru

    Audioguru New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    9,411
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Maybe you should ask the people who supply you with unstable electricity how to stabilize its voltage.
    Maybe you should ask them why don't they stabilize it like in most other places.
  5. rjenkins

    rjenkins AAC Fanatic!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,015
    Location:
    Sheffield, England
    There are two main types I'm aware of.

    'Tap Changers', which adjust settings on a transformer or autotransformer to maintain a constant output (or for smaller loads can have a servo motor turning a continuously variable 'Variac' transformer).

    'Constant Voltage Transformers', which are strange beasts I've used but never fully understood.. These have an extra winding tuned by a capacitor, and somehow this affects the properties of the core to maintain a fixed output voltage.

    Due to the resonant part of the device, these also maintain the output voltage for a cycle or so of the input glitches...

    For three phase, you need a three phase transformer or three x single phase units.

    Audioguru:
    Stabilised at the source does not mean stable at the destination!
    Ask anyone fed via a looong overhead line or in a big industrial plant etc.
  6. studiot

    studiot E-book Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Somerset UK
    You need more than tap changers or CVTs at the generator end, these are for the user end or last step down stage.

    You need control circuitry to monitor the demand, and adjust the output of the gensets accordingly.
  7. ahmedahmedahmed

    ahmedahmedahmed Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Gaza
    Thanks for all

    All I need wiring diagram for voltage stabilizer which is regulate the voltage in the output.
  8. ahmedahmedahmed

    ahmedahmedahmed Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Gaza
    Where is the wiring Diagram for the stabilizer
  9. t06afre

    t06afre AAC Fanatic!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5,939
    This is not the way to behave, in a forum like this. You have not got any diagram because no one has a diagram that they can post here. Try Google
  10. peranders

    peranders Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    Göteborg, Sweden
  11. Audioguru

    Audioguru New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    9,411
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Why do people who live on the other side (3rd world) ask questions about their weird electricity here? Why don't they ask the people who live there?

    My electricity is reliable and has its voltage regulated the way it should be.
  12. SgtWookie

    SgtWookie Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    22,094
    Location:
    In the vast midwest of the USA; CST
    Do you have one already that you need to know how to wire up?

    In that case, what is the name of the manufacturer and the model number of the unit?

    If you do not have one already, what is your AC voltage, frequency, and power requirement?
  13. t06afre

    t06afre AAC Fanatic!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5,939
    I think this was a very futile comment. Many poster come from outside US/Canada. I live in Scandinavia. So for your information peacefully Ontario, in Canada is not the center of the world. I also think that ahmedahmedahmedJunior question was a question well inside the scope of this forum.
  14. KL7AJ

    KL7AJ E-book Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,604
    Location:
    North Pole, Alaska
    Dear Ahmed ^3:

    There are a few approaches to this. Probably the most practical for a home user is a UPS and inverter. By "rolling your own" AC, you will be fairly immune to instabilities in long transmission lines. Plus you get the benefit of a small degree of emergency power.

    For higher power/industrial applications, it's generally more efficient to use an autotransformer or tapped transformer with a voltage sensor and servo controller. This is how large substations regulate the "downstream" voltage. I'm not sure what your exact situation is, but there are always effective ways of doing this. Rather than reinventing the wheel, you might see what your neighbors are doing. I know in Thailand, the power companies will actually loan or rent voltage stabilizers to some rural villages.

    (Note to Audioguru: You need to visit a third world country some time.)

    Eric
  15. ahmedahmedahmed

    ahmedahmedahmed Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Gaza
    Thanks to all

    1- I don't have the responsible about the voltage in our country (Gaza-Palestine) Just come and see.
    2- I need the voltage stabilizer to learn as (electrical engineer).
    3- The thing I need is wiring diagram for ( Ac voltage stabilizer with four relays to change the volt if there was a loosing in it) (the stabilizer can support two devices like freezer and refrigerator)
    maybe it will be 1KW.
    4- I think this diagram have op-amp

    If anyone have this or can help me having this , just give me

    Again
    Thanks for all


    Ahmed Hassan
  16. Audioguru

    Audioguru New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    9,411
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Why would I visit a 3rd-world country? No thanks.
    My electricity is always 121VAC and fails only a couple of times per year for a few seconds during a thunder storm.
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
General Electronics Chat automotive 12v regulator/stabilizer Jun 10, 2009
General Electronics Chat circuit phase diagram Thursday at 5:46 AM
General Electronics Chat need help with a serial diagram and modifying it Sep 29, 2014
General Electronics Chat Creating system block diagrams May 18, 2014
General Electronics Chat Wiring diagram of an electrified hinge explanation? Apr 16, 2014

Share This Page