Square Wave with Variable Voltage

dan07

Joined Nov 29, 2013
Hello,

I am quite new to electronics and I am facing a problem with my circuit. The aim of this project is to have a PIC generating a square wave (100 us ON; 100 us OFF) that will drive a BC548. Since the output voltage of PIC is 5 V, the BC548 is used to have the same square wave but with higher voltage. To achieve that the "Variable DC Source" feeds the circuit with 24 V. I was expecting to have a square wave with variable voltage as I change the "Variable DC Source". However, everything goes well until 8.6 V. Then, the square wave shifts up (as I increase the voltage) instead of reaching a higher voltage. There is a offset of the whole square wave.

Find attached 3 figures:

- The circuit;
- One photo of the oscilloscope when the "Variable DC Source" was feeding the circuit with 8.6 V;
- One photo of the oscilloscope when the "Variable DC Source" was feeding the circuit with 14 V (the square wave is shifted up).

How can I change my circuit in order to have what I need: a Square Wave paced by the PIC with a variable voltage?

Thanks.

Dan07.

Attachments

Last edited by a moderator:

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

I have moved your post.

There are some problems with the LM317 circuit.
The minimum load for the regulator is about 10 mA.
The 560 Ohms resitor has a to high value.
Reduce it to 120 Ohms and reduce the 1600 Ohms resistor to 345 Ohms.
Also there is no decoupling capacitor on the output of the regulator.
Add an 0.1 μF capacitor from the output to ground.

You also have no current limiting resistor at the base of the transistor.
Add a 470 Ohms resistor in series with the base to the output of the microcontroller.

Bertus

dan07

Joined Nov 29, 2013
bertus,

I followed all your instructions and I am still getting the same behavior: square wave shifts up with voltages higher than 8.6V. I dropped all the resistors values for the LM317 and I am still getting around 5 V to feed the PIC, great!