speed control

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by iowdave, Oct 10, 2014.

1. iowdave

Thread Starter New Member

Oct 10, 2014
    good afternoon hello all newbie here with a problem.. i have a 480 watt sander which i need to use a speed controller for a project im doing. i have wired a speed controller to it and it works but i need the sander to stop on the controller. as soon as i plug it in it starts running any guides please thank you

2. alfacliff

Dec 13, 2013
    turn off the speed controller unless you want the sander to run.

3. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    If this is the typical Triac Universal motor controller there is usually a switch fitted integral to the speed Pot?
    If it does not have you could fit your own, or just an ordinary SP switch ahead of the controller?
    Max.

4. iowdave

Oct 10, 2014
    thank you very much for both your speedy replys electrics is a bit over my head is there a unit i could buy to solve this? i might not of explained it very good but i need the sander to start from 0 rpm if this is possible thank you

5. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    There are the dimmer type power versions for the Universal motors that come with a switch, but when the switch is turned on it usually switches the motor to very low rpm, do you want actual zero rpm when the switch is turned on?
    It almost sounds like you want the same set up they have on treadmills where if you switch power on, the pot has to be returned to zero before the motor starts, but this would entail a slightly more sophisticated controller.
    Max.

6. iowdave

Oct 10, 2014
    max thank you yes thats just what i need zero when i switch on could you let me know which items i need if you dont mind thanks dave

7. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    The T.M. controllers are a bit more sophisticated that the average simple Triac controller, I am not sure it would be worth incorporating the pot circuit into one of those.