Speed control of a DC motor.

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by Halim.Akiki, Feb 9, 2015.

1. Halim.Akiki

Thread Starter Member

Dec 29, 2014
    Hi. Is there any method other than the PWM (Pulse Width Modulation) to control the speed of a DC motor?

2. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    SCR bridge direct off of the AC, either 2 quadrant or 4 quadrant.
    Max.

3. Halim.Akiki

Thread Starter Member

Dec 29, 2014
    I'm a BS student so and i would appreciate it if you explain more. Thank you.

4. Alec_t

AAC Fanatic!

Sep 17, 2013
    Controlling the current drawn by the motor will control its speed (but also vary the torque available).

5. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    Three methods using SCR (or Triac) .
    The phase angle control is not shown, but just requires a fairly simple R/C circuit.
    The triac circuit would place a Triac on the AC side and then into a simple bridge rectifier befor the motor.
    [​IMG]
    Max.

6. ScottWang

Aug 23, 2012
    It's quite strange because he said that he want to using the pwm to control the DC motor, but you told him something that the parts using with the AC motor?

7. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    I did without looking close! But it can be done with (a) & also (c) can be used by moving the motor to the SCR1 position and using a triac on the AC side.
    I will post some better (DC) examples.
    Max.

8. Halim.Akiki

Thread Starter Member

Dec 29, 2014
    Loo
    Looking forward to it. Thank you very much.

9. ScottWang

Aug 23, 2012
    I think you should google the key words from you as pwm dc motor, and to pick up some circuit or theory, and make your own, and then if you have any questions just post here again.

10. Halim.Akiki

Thread Starter Member

Dec 29, 2014
    I am familiar with the pwm method and i've already done it, this is why i am searching for another method. This is the pwm circuit. DC moter speed control.png

11. ScottWang

Aug 23, 2012