SPDT Micro relay issue

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by pheeragod, Feb 2, 2011.

1. pheeragod

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 2, 2011
    I'm pretty new to making circuits and I ran across this issue . I've got an SPDT 5vdc micro relay that I have a 9V battery with a resistor bringing it down to 4.5v on the magnetic side of the relay, but with the resistor it doesn't work if i remove the resistor it works fine . I'm sure its something stupid, like i said i'm new to making circuits . any help would be great!

2. marshallf3

Jul 26, 2010
    What relay? Just reduce the value of the resistor until it works and you really need alkaline batteries.

Have a circuit we could look at? You may be asking too much from the battery or your driving circuit is dropping too much voltage.

3. Jaguarjoe

Apr 7, 2010
    Measure the resistance of the relay coil. Calculate the coil current using I = E/R. E would be the 5 volt rating of the relay coil.
    Lets assume your alkaline battery is 9.4 volts. Then the resistor you need must drop 9.4-5 volts at the current (I) you previously calculated.
    Using R = E/I, with E being 9.4-5 = 4.4 volts, you get R = 4.4/I.
    The larger I is, the shorter your battery will last.

4. marshallf3

Jul 26, 2010
    I tend to use the 4.5V rated ones when dealing with logic, Goldmine almost gives them away. Not the smallest relay in the world but very tiny: http://www.goldmine-elec-products.com/prodinfo.asp?number=G17319 and I've had extremely good luck with them. 30 mA pull in isn't bad, hold current seems to be less and if you need to drive more than one a simple 2N3904/3906 works well.

They will drive off of simple 5V logic as you can see by the specs. Seems like I'm low on this part so I best order more.

Last edited: Feb 2, 2011
  5. pheeragod

Feb 2, 2011