High power?
What viewing angle?
Size?

What part of the world are you?

Bertus

Kane

Joined Aug 5, 2010
USA

As wide a veiwing area as possible for aquarium lighting.

Whatever power is required I guess. I'm willing to build accordingly.

Probably the bigger the better.

I'm building aquarium lights for freshwater tanks. The average size is 75-180 gallon (48" to 72" long by 18" to 24" wide and 24" depth) I want to have white for clear veiwing, blue for the added depth of color. I do not have plants.

I'm reading up on how to build this. I have very good soldering skills. I've been getting on ok at learning how to calculate my power needs and how to assemble the components on the board and such but I have ZERO experience determining the brightness and quality of any given LED.

Simply put, I want your eyes to melt when you look at one of my aquariums (no fish, just lots of beautiful minerals) The others I want no dark areas and well lit even in daytime.

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009
Typically you look at the number of lumens an LED produces at a typical current level.
I just put together an LED light for my reef tank. I used 12 Cree XP-G (cool white) and 12 Cree XR-E (royal blue) for my 30 gallon cube... It is VERY bright... I mean burn your eyes out bright. All mounted to a large heat sink and powered with 2 x Meanwell ELN-60-48D constant current dimmable drivers. LED's are great but they aren't cheap... $250 just in the LED's and power supplies.

you would want something like this...
http://www.rapidled.com/servlet/the-57/48-Ultra-Premium-LED/Detail

marshallf3

Joined Jul 26, 2010
The really good ones aren't cheap anywhere, sometimes using more of a slightly lesser part is more economical.

You will also want to understand the relationship of the various units they use to express actual "brightness" as they're starting to throw in a third one now. Used to just be mcd, then came lumens, now some metric unit I can't quote from memory.