sounding rocket project problem

d.sonali20

Joined May 21, 2011
i am using a meteor smoke particle detector for a sounding rocket project.The output of my detector is current in range pico amps to micro amps.i need to convert it into voltage in the range 0-5v(for the adc).what can i do??

d.sonali20

Joined May 21, 2011
absolutely nothing....i only know that they are used for amplification...i am a first yr engineering student...i will be studying op amps in the next semester...but i've been assigned this work and i need to submit it by today evening:(

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
In this case the formula is really simple.

V = -I * R

So if R is 1000Ω (or 1KΩ) for 1ma (0.001) it will output -1V. You will need a quality op amp that can handle signals near ground if there is only one power supply voltage.

So what power supply voltages do you have? Most traditional op amp circuits need a dual power supply, it would help with this circuit too, and simplify some side issues.

As for op amps, any really quiet high impedance should work OK. Maybe other people can recommend much better, but I'm thinking a TL071 or TL081. The dual versions (TL072 or TL082) could use the second op amp to invert the signal to where the formula is V = I * R. It is up to you.

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010
It would depend on what is used for calibration.

It was offered as a high impedance input, high gain circuit option, that is NOT an opamp. Our poster declared he knew nothing about opamps.

His decision to ask us for help just one day before the 'project' is due, would decidedly make using components he knows nothing about a source of delay and confusion. If you feel I shouldn't offer alternatives to opamps, then you will be less than happy with my input on this topic. :)

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008