Sound & Vibration Project on Arduino

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Dualfire, Mar 12, 2013.

1. Dualfire

Thread Starter New Member

Dec 5, 2012
    Hey guys! For this month, I want to do a small project using the Arduino. I have little experience with using it, and the alternative would be using the BASIC Stamp, but I chose to use the Arduino.

I have a few question and will separate it into three steps for simplicity reasons, if you could help me with a one or two of those, or even all, that would be great!!!

1., I am connecting a electret microphone to the Arduino.
    2., I am connecting a piezo vibration sensor, connect it in parallel with a 10M resistor (or a 2-3M resistor to make it less sensitive) to the Arduino.
    3. I want to combine the two on a 2-line LCD that I have purchased and want to output the sound and vibration level on each line.

For the sound detector portion, I use the following code from "Arduino Cookbook"

microphone sketch
    SparkFun breakout board for Electret Microphone is connected to analog pin 0
    const int ledPin = 13; //the code will flash the LED in pin 13
    const int middleValue = 512; //the middle of the range of analog values
    const int numberOfSamples = 128; //how many readings will be taken each time
    int sample; //the value read from microphone each time
    long signal; //the reading once you have removed DC offset
    long averageReading; //the average of that loop of readings
    long runningAverage=0; //the running average of calculated values
    const int averagedOver= 16; //how quickly new values affect running average
    //bigger numbers mean slower
    const int threshold=400; //at what level the light turns on

void setup() {
    pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
    void loop() {
    long sumOfSquares = 0;
    for (int i=0; i<numberOfSamples; i++) { //take many readings and average them
    sample = analogRead(0); //take a reading