Sound (mic) to Light (LED), beginner

Francis.Kelley

Joined May 29, 2013
Hey All-

I'm a beginner at circuits so keep that in mind with your responses. If you think I won't get what you are saying, but you can suggest another location to look, that'd be great too.

I am hoping to make a two part project. I want to talk into a microphone and convert that sound into light. In the second part, I want to use a photo-transistor and a speaker to convert that light back into sound.

I've had some help on this, and I think I have all my components down for part 1, but I'm not exactly sure how to connect them all. I'm using surface mount components on a board I mill myself so I'll need to be able to put it all together in Eagle (limited experience here).

As I understand it I'll need**:
-A 4-pin header to connect to a battery
-A microphone, and three resistors, and a capacitor for the sound input
-An Attiny45 microcontroller and a 6 pin header to program it
-A LED and resistor, possibly a MOSFET if the LED is bright enough, for the light output

**Need might be the wrong word here, but these are the components I have.

I've milled boards and stuffed them before, but only by working off pre-set plans. I've never had to figure out what connects to what before and am frankly pretty lost. Any help anyone could give on what goes where on my board would be very helpful. If I get this part done, I'll be back to ask about programming the micro controller, and making part 2.

Thanks much,
FK

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
I think you are off to a wrong start.

Before you start collecting components, designing a circuit board etc. you need to assess your knowledge base. You cannot design with a microcontroller if you have never worked with one and don't know how to program one.

You also need to clearly define your objectives and what you are attempting to do.

Let us take Part 1.