Sound Activated LED

Dlong88

Joined Nov 9, 2010
This is my first post on here and I am new to electronics, for I am a programmer and lack the knowledge of the electrical engineering.

With this is mind I have created a circuit to light a LED from the input of a mic element. The circuit works correctly for if the sound is soft or loud the brightness of the LED reflects it.

Problems:
- Since this circuit will eventually be running on batteries, and the batteries will lose voltage, the resistance set from the potentiometer will need to be constantly be readjusted.
- The LED does not get bright enough unless it is right in the mouth of the speaker.

Is there a better way of achieving this?
Thanks for your help.

Here is the circuit diagram-----

Last edited:

marshallf3

Joined Jul 26, 2010
Put LED in series with the resistor, not across the transistor.

Don't know what kind of mike that is but some work could be done there as well.

Dlong88

Joined Nov 9, 2010
Well if i run the LED in series with the 150 transistor it does the opposite effect. It is constant lit when sounds enters, it then dims. Was I supposed to run with the 10 resistor?

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Depends on what you are after. Typically you want LED light with sound, but this isn't a must or a given. The amplitude of the signal from a mic is going to be small, so you need to increase it, and possibly make it variable gain.

Dlong88

Joined Nov 9, 2010
Ok well the desired effect is to have it light with sounds so running across the resistor worked. What was the purpose of being in series with resistor?

Dlong88

Joined Nov 9, 2010
I have looked at chapter 12 of the link provided. I see that that i should create the throbbing effect with the mic as the input to the 555? Also I am using 3 volts not 9 so would the resistance then be different?

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008