Some questions about transistors

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by zoom, Jul 11, 2014.

1. zoom

Thread Starter New Member

Jul 11, 2014
    Since I have never used a transistor before, I am a bit unfamiliar with them.

I need to drive a 12Volt LED strip, which draws 0.4 mA for 1 Meter.

I found the tutorial below and understood almost everything but one thing;

http://teachmetomake.wordpress.com/how-to-use-a-transistor-as-a-switch/

When it comes to calculating the base resistor he checks the value of Vbe(sat) at 1 A even though the load requiers 1.25 A when stalled and 76mA when with no load.

I think he should select the least possible current, since less current corresponds to less Vbe(sat) value and this will eventually increase the current drawn from the base, right ?

5 - Vbe = R * I

where I is selected 20mA.
    If the load current drops, Vbe will also drop and this will result in higher higher base current (I) for a given base resistor (R) . Am I wrong ? This point confuses me.

Also he claims that the selected base resistor is the maximum value. However if I decrease it, base current will increase and that may draw much more current than the arduino can handle (40mA).

Appreciate if you explain this phenomenon.

One more question;

Someone told me that you don't need to mess with base resistor if you're just intending to turn the transistor on and off as a switch. Just go ahead and select something around 220 or 330. Why is that so ?

And the last question :)

If I want to control the value of the voltage flowing from collector to emitter by base current, should I use a different type of transitor ? or what should I do ?

Thank you.

2. ericgibbs

AAC Fanatic!

Jan 29, 2010
    hi,
    The Collector current, Ic is approx = Ibase * Beta [ Gain].

E

3. zoom

Jul 11, 2014
    Thank you for your answer.