some help please!!!!

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by total new user, Feb 12, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. total new user

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 12, 2011
    So im a total newbie to electronics, but i need to solve an issue thats driving me nuts!!! what I need is some way to be able to send a text to a mobile phone and have the mobile operate a servo motor one way on one command and the other way from another command.

eg...

text sent says open----- text recieved and servo turns clockwise

text sent says close----- text recieved and servo turns anti-clockwise

Im guessing that some sort of programming and circuitry would be required as an add on to a standard mobile phone to make this possible. Im absolutely sure it can be done, what I really want to know is how much such a setup would cost to produce including programming etc, never know, could be a job in it for the right person!!!

2. Adjuster

Dec 26, 2010

3. total new user

Feb 12, 2011

Thats helpful?

4. magnet18

Dec 22, 2010
    He's probably currently communicating with/waiting for reply from a moderator

What are you planning on using this for? I believe hes wondering if we are allowed to discuss this topic.

5. Adjuster

Dec 26, 2010
    I made a comment, which on reflection seemed not to be such a good idea. Unfortunately, not knowing any way to delete a post completely, "..................." was what you were left with.

My apologies for doing that, but it does keep your thread up the list.

6. total new user

Feb 12, 2011
    no worries, i cant really discuss the specifics as I have not got a patent on the idea, however what i can say is its intended use is in the security sector, to combat crime rather than perpertrate it lol...

7. magnet18

Dec 22, 2010
    click edit; go advanced; then at the top you click the circle that says "delete message" and then click the "delete this message"button.

8. Papabravo

Expert

Feb 24, 2006